flour tortillas

February 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

fresh tortillas

You know how in fashion, there are certain pieces of clothing that you should always own? A white button down, a good pair of jeans, or whatever? (I wouldn’t take that as real fashion advice because I dress like… like I just rolled out of and should still be in bed.) Well, I believe that the same goes for cooking. There are some things that are easy to make and you should just know how because you can do so much with them. For me, flour tortillas are definitely one of them.

big blob sliced up

I think tortillas are great not only because I’m biased and love Mexican food, but also because they’re super versatile. When I get hungry around midnight (as I always do) life is made easy for me when I have tortillas and I can wrap some dinner leftovers in one and chomp away. I also love spreading dips and sauces really thinly on them and rolling them up.

rolled up balls of dough silky, smooth, pudgy

Oh! That brings me to another reason I’m waxing poetic about tortillas. They give me a higher filling-to-carb ratio that bread just doesn’t. Unless I pile on the sandwich guts about an inch thick, wraps just can’t be beat. And while I do love my bread, sometimes I just want to scream ‘Get out of my way, crusts, I cannot taste anything inside of you!’

rolled out dough fresh tortillas

For a while I only made corn tortillas, because there was a recipe on the back of my harina de maiz bag and I’m all about convenience. Also, for some reason I thought flour tortillas would be infinitely more difficult. Trust me, I kicked myself after making these because they’re seriously easy. They don’t need to rise, they don’t require a tortilla press, and they’re so much better (and cheaper) than the store bought kind.

fresh tortilla

Flour Tortillas
adapted from Budget Bytes

2 cups flour (and some extra)
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp oil (I used olive)
3/4 cups warm water

Whisk together your flour, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. Combine the oil and water together and then slowly stir it into your dry ingredients until it comes together into one big mass. You may need to add more water or flour until you get the right consistency.

Knead the dough until you have a smooth, elastic ball. Let rest for 5 minutes and then cut into 8 wedges. (You can change the size of your tortillas by changing the number of wedges you cut. More wedges means smaller tortillas.) Roll the wedges into smaller balls and let rest for another 5 minutes.

Roll each ball out as circularly as possible to your desired thickness. Dust both sides of each tortilla before stacking them together.

Heat a heavy skillet and wait until it gets hot. Then cook your tortilla on it until it puffs up, bubbles, and blisters golden. Flip it over and wait for the same to happen on the other side and transfer to a plate. Cover your finished tortillas with a towel while you cook the next ones. Now enjoy these fresh tortillas with whatever filling you may like. Falafel, maybe.

§ One Response to flour tortillas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading flour tortillas at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

