vanilla bean custard

March 21, 2011 § 14 Comments

cute jars

It seems as though everyone’s so hooked on this new trend of macarons that no one really takes the time to talk about left over yolks. But guys, it’s a serious issue! Nobody wants egg yolks hanging around and drying out, getting crusty until they’re inevitably thrown away. I’m lucky enough to have a mom that works with a lady who raises her own chickens so our eggs are farm-fresh, but it also increases my level of guilt whenever I leave part of an egg behind because a recipe asks me to do so.

vanilla seed flecked

I hate to admit this, but I’ve probably thrown away more than a dozen yolks in my macaron mis-adventures. Probably even more because of these little buggers. It’s not like I don’t want to use those yolks, I really do! But what can I do with them? Google thought I might want to smear the yolks in my hair or on my skin to regain my youth. Um, ew.

capped

Recipes for aioli and mayonnaise got responses of ‘eh’ and I just kept throwing those yolks out like an ungrateful brat until I found Laura’s vanilla custard recipe and then kicked myself. (You might notice I do that often.) “Of course, custard! ” I exclaimed while rolling my eyes and grabbing the cream from my fridge.

uncapped

Not only does her recipe yield the prettiest, vanilla-bean-seed flecked custard I’ve ever seen, but it tastes like heaven. I had a few white cow dairy yogurt bottles I’d saved, so to up the cuteness factor I poured the custard into them and cooed in adoration. (By the way, I love their yogurt.)

custard in jars!

I’ve made a few slight changes in cooking method and to the recipe. First, I’ve halved the egg yolks, because I rarely ever have 6 yolks to use up. Secondly, I added more sugar, because I prefer a sweeter custard than the original recipe produced. And lastly, I used a make-shift doubleboiler to cook mine, since I hardly trust myself with custard over a direct flame.

Vanilla Bean Custard
slightly tweaked from a little zaftig

3 egg yolks
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 vanilla bean, seeds scraped out
3 tbsp sugar

Boil water in a small saucepan, over which a small-ish metal bowl will fit.

Whisk the egg yolks and heavy cream in the metal bowl until smooth throughout. Then add your vanilla bean seeds and sugar to the yolk-cream mixture and whisk until the seeds are spread evenly through.

Place the bowl over the simmering water and whisk continuously so no lumps form while it cooks. Keep whisking for approximately ten minutes, or until the mixture thickens to a custard-like consistency. Remove the bowl from the pan and pour into bowls to serve, or whatever container you’re using to store it. Sit back and enjoy as your mouth reaches nirvana.

§ 14 Responses to vanilla bean custard

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading vanilla bean custard at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

