buttermilk cornbread

May 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

we snack on pistachios

I can’t say I really like cornbread, but I want to. I don’t know why I so desperately want to love eating cornbread (maybe my instinct to love carbs?) but I do. Sadly, the tastiest cornbread I’ve ever had was from a bulk discount store, and I’m afraid it’s still my fondest memory of cornbread. Even though I’ve never had a stellar experience with cornbread, I keep trying recipes, hoping this one will be the one, but it never is. I really wish I could tell you that this is the one, but it wasn’t. Not even close, guys. I figured with a book like Cook’s Illustrated, I was guaranteed at least something I’d want to dunk into soup or drizzle with honey and soak in milk. Nope. What happened to this cornbread was that we fed most of it to a bird. A fat little bird.

corn bread batter
whole loaf/pan

I think the only redeeming thing about this cornbread was that it looked really pretty. The little bumps and peaks in the batter turned a golden brown, as did the edges, and it just came out looking really nice, if a little like a yellow brick. So why did I even bother posting this recipe? I don’t really know. I figure there might be someone out there who likes dry cornbread or who can make this work as something else (I’m thinking croutons or a cornbread pudding).

two pieces

Either way, there’s that idiom about different strokes for different folks…maybe this is more your speed than it is mine.

Buttermilk Cornbread
from The Cook’s Book

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups fine cornmeal
4 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs beaten
1 cup buttermilk (or whole milk)
2 tbsp melted, unsalted butter

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Combine the dry ingredients & make a well in the center. Add the wet ingredients & mix well until it forms a smooth batter.

Pour the batter into a lightly greased 8×8 square pan. Place in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until firm to the touch. Let the cornbread cool once removed from the oven before cutting. Serve warm & cut into little squares.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading buttermilk cornbread at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

