oatmeal ice cream

June 5, 2011 § 2 Comments

oatmeal ice cream
I went back on my ‘no gadgets’ mantra. I know how I’m always going on about how lame ungadgety I am, but when I, er, my mom saw an ice cream maker on sale for twenty dollars, how could I say no to that? Would you? Could you? In a house? Okay I won’t start that again. Promise. I have, however, started to become an ice cream junkie and I’ve perused through no less than fifty ice cream, sorbet, and gelato recipes since I bought my new gadget-baby on Sunday. I have a problem.
mid-churn
oats
cinnamon
At the top of my recipe queue was this rosemary ice cream, but I’m ashamed to tell you guys that…uh…um, well…I killed my rosemary plant. Not on purpose, really, I just don’t have a green thumb anywhere on my body. But right after that rosemary ice cream in my queue was oatmeal ice cream. It is indeed summer and time for summery flavors, but the siren call of creamy oatmeal steeped with cinnamon and nutmeg just lured me in and I prepped the custard base at nearly midnight and churned this up right after school, and boy, it did not disappoint!
at the end of churning
This ice cream has all the comforting goodness of creamy oatmeal (maybe even more) but you don’t have to deal with the heat, which in this 70 degree weather that Buffalonians find blistering, is a very, very good thing.
four scoops
Oatmeal Ice Cream
adapted and halved from pastry studio

1 cup whole milk
1/4 cup & 1/8 cup brown sugar, separated
1/4 tsp salt, heaping
1/4 cups old fashioned rolled oats, heaping
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 egg yolks
3/4 cups heavy cream

Boil the cup of whole milk, the quarter cup of brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon in a saucepan. Add the oats when the mixture is bubbling and stir until the oatmeal is almost cooked.

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks and 1/8 cup of brown sugar until well combined. Then add the hot oatmeal to the yolks by spoonful and whisk to prevent curdling. Once all combined, add the heavy cream and whisk until thoroughly mixed. Cover and chill in the refrigerator overnight.

The next day, churn in an ice cream maker until frozen and store in a freezer-proof container. You may just eat it out of the ice cream maker, though. It’s that good!

§ 2 Responses to oatmeal ice cream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading oatmeal ice cream at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

