s’mores ice cream

August 19, 2011 § 13 Comments

aerial

I’ve been seeing a lot of banana soft serve/healthy banana ice cream type posts going around the blogosphere lately. I don’t know whether this year blended, frozen bananas are really in or whether this happens even summer, but this recipe has no bananas in it. First of all…I haven’t been feeling bananas that much lately. Sure, I still dig a moist, cinnamony banana bread, but when picking out of the fruit bowl, banana has been coming last to all the exotic-er fruits we’ve had lately. (Sorry, buddy.)

salter scale & add-ins

Speaking of the banana soft serve trend, my recipe queue has had a bit of a trend recently as well. S’mores. I bookmarked some whoopie pies, this orgasmic-looking pie, and this ice cream just sent me over the graham cracker edge where I fell into chocolate, with a splash, and had to use a marshmallow as a flotation device. Oh if only.

close up
It’s pretty rare that I make something that I bookmark within a couple of days, but I’ve been super proactive lately and I got around to making s’mores ice cream lickety-split. I made it twice, actually. It is that good.

add-ins

In other news, I am now all moved into my dorm at Cornell, so I’m sorry to say that post frequency will probably dwindle as a result of workload, orientation, and all other sorts of school-related madness. Many apologies and thanks to my not-so-many readers!

s'mores ice cream

S’mores Ice Cream
adapted from Chasing Delicious

2 cups half & half
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 ounces chocolate chips
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar

Mix-ins:
3/4 cup graham crackers, chopped
2 ounces chocolate chips, chopped up if you like
3/4 cup mini-marshmallows

Put cocoa powder in a larger saucepan than you think you’ll need. Pour in some of the half & half and whisk patiently until it becomes paste-like and the cocoa is incorporated into the half & half. Then add the rest of the half & half and the vanilla and heat until steaming from the stop. Add in the chocolate chips, take off heat, and stir until chocolate is melted.

In a separate large-ish bowl, whisk the egg yolks and sugar until pale & frothy. Slowly pour in the chocolate half & half mixture while whisking the egg yolks quickly to temper. Transfer the contents of the bowl back into the saucepan and cook over low-medium heat, whisking constantly to prevent the eggs from scrambling, until the mix has thickened and/or is steaming. Pour back into bowl, cover with clingfilm and let cool before refrigerating over night or for at least 8 hours.

After the custard is chilled, it should be thick, like a pudding. Place in your ice cream maker and process until as thick as soft serve. At this point, scoop the ice cream into the container you’ll be freezing it in and stir in all your mix-ins, cover with clingfilm and freeze up to solidify more.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you can make this too! Just take a shallow metal pan and place it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes and then pour your ice cream base into it and freeze again. Take the pan out even 30 minutes or so and give it a hearty stir, making sure to get all the frozen bits stirred into the center, which will not freeze as quickly. Do this until it’s thick enough to hold bumps & dips in the surface and then add your mix-ins, cover with clingfilm and freeze up. You can freeze right in the pan if you like!

§ 13 Responses to s’mores ice cream

  • Dmarie says:

    oh, my, just my luck to find a delicious blog just as it goes on hiatus. thanks for what you have shared here…and best wishes on your new adventures!!

  • I dont think i ever read any sweeter words than ‘if you dont have an ice cream maker you can make this too’…i could have wept with joy! :) This looks plain phenomenal, just YUM! Gorgeous photos too, you are going to ruin my waistline with this recipe but really…when its gonna taste that good, who cares!

    • bitemythumb says:

      Thanks so much Sasha! Haha my life philosophy is taste over calories. Each and every time, haha. I hope you enjoy it! I know my family did, as it’s not super sweet like some ice creams can be.

  • Yes! I like it!
    I tried the banana soft serve thing just the other day. Doesn’t live up to ice cream, but it’s good enough to ward off cravings when you’re on a diet. Like me. Eternally. :P

    • bitemythumb says:

      An eternal diet, yikes! I always try and fail at dieting, because of things like this ice cream. I’m still interested in trying the banana soft serve, but my little single-serve blender might not be up for that, haha. Maybe I could make a s’mores twist on banana soft serve, that would epic!

  • So rich and creamy. I will indulge with it.

  • melaniejanem says:

    This ice cream looks amazing – I can’t wait to make it! I graduated from Cornell in 2009… I hope you love it as much as I did!! Good luck :)

  • Carolyn says:

    Hello,

    I am doing an end of summer ice cream round up on my own blog, All Day I Dream About Food, and would love to include this recipe. I would use one of your images, and link back to you, but I wouldn’t be posting the recipe directly. If you would like to be a part of it, please email me at carketch29 (at) yahoo (dot) com.

    Thanks,
    Carolyn

  • I’m glad you liked the recipe! I like your variation. I think next time I am just going to throw the marshmallows in because melting them down was a bit of a pain. Great blog here. Hopefully you don’t completely disappear because of school.

    • bitemythumb says:

      Thanks for dropping by, Russell! I actually tried your method, but everything got gunked up so I ate the melted marshmallows and just threw the rest of the bag in, haha. Luckily it worked out!
      I’m really hoping to keep posting as well, just getting into the groove of things here.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading s’mores ice cream at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

