juice fast/detox

August 29, 2011 § 4 Comments

detox jamboree

Can you guys guess what I did before college? I finished a juice fast! People do juice fasts for different reasons. Some people want to lose weight and lose it fast. Some people want to clean our their urinary tract. Or colon. Or something. For me, I decided to do one because I’ve never done on before (and you guys know how I like to try new things) and because college, for me, starts in exactly a week and I wanted to start my year at a high point (from a health-oriented perspective). It’s a bit of a stereotype that all college students live off of packaged ramen and frozen waffles, but realistically speaking I see my next four years to be full of cups of yogurt, boxes of candy, and my personal weakness. Don’t ask to explain why, because I couldn’t even, but I love those things.

Anyways, my inspiration for this detox/juice fast came from Lady Cakes. She drew her own inspiration from this cleanse, which is pretty cool if expensive, expensive, too expensive for this soon-to-be-broke-student! Even though Ashlae didn’t have a stellar experience with her own cleanse, I still really liked it for several reasons. First, it’s not all “LOSE WEIGHT! WE’RE GONNA LOSE SOME WEIGHT Y’ALL!” Some of those crazy cleanses are like: ‘Mix lemon juice, hot sauce, and maple syrup together. Drink this and only this for a week.’ Um, that’s gross. BPC’s cleanse is more focused on balancing your innards while providing you with good (and raw) nutrients.

apple, mint

Secondly, it’s all delicious. I modeled my self-made juices on BPC’s ‘Foundation’ cleanse. I loved their description of what kind of person it’s for, because I felt like my thoughts had been plagiarized for a moment. It’s been labelled as ‘the cleanse for foodies’ and I would jump on that bandwagon because of the four juices, none of them made me think ‘Blech!’.

Speaking of, the four juices in my cleanse were: Green Juice, Pineapple Apple Mint, Spicy Lemonade, and Almond Milk. The original cleanse ends with a cashew milk, but I didn’t have cashews at home so almond milk it was! Taste-wise, I love how the use of Granny Smith apples in the Green Juice cut through the vegetables so it wasn’t overwhelmingly vegetable-y at all. After my first, mind-blowingly delicious, bottle of P.A.M. I was hesitant about how the Green Juice would taste afterwards, but it wasn’t even a little bad!

the whole line up

So enough of my yammering and let’s get onto the recipes, shall we?

green juice
Green Juice
4 leaves of romaine lettuce
3 stalks of celery
5 stalks of parsley
2 Granny Smith apples
1/2 cup spinach
2-3 leaves of kale
1 medium-sized cucumber

Rinse all your vegetables and trim off any ends that look a bit unsavory. Cut up the romaine lettuce and kale. Place in the bowl of a food processor and process until it reduces to pulpy-ness. You may have to add a little water to help it along, but try not to add too much. Then add the spinach and let it whir away while you cut the celery, apples (core these too), and cucumber into a manageable size and slowly drop those into your processor as well and let it whir away until everything is pretty evenly blitzed together.

Place a mesh strainer over a bowl and pour some of your green juice pulp into the strainer and let it sit for 5 minutes to let the juices drip out. Then, with washed hands, press down on the pulp and squish out as much juice as you can. Repeat until all the pulp is emptied out of the processor. Transfer your juice into a 16 oz. bottle and refrigerate.

pineapple apple mint
Pineapple Apple Mint
1/3 of a pineapple
2 Granny Smith apples
1/4 cup mint

Core the apples and chop into chunks and do the same for the pineapple. Place into your processor along with the mint and blitz until smooth. Using a clean strainer, pour the juice pulp into it and repeat the steps used for the green juice.

spicy lemonade
Spicy Lemonade
15 oz. filtered water
1 oz lemon juice
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper powder
1 tsp honey or agave

Combine all ingredients in a glass or bottle. Give a hearty shake/stir and refrigerate.

almond milk
Almond Milk
1/2 cup almonds
2 cups water
1 tbsp honey or agave
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon powder

Soak almonds in tap water overnight. Rinse before use and combine all ingredients in a blender and blend at a high speed until it reaches a milky consistency. Pour into a cheesecloth-lined bowl and squeeze out as much milk as you can. Refrigerate or use right away.

§ 4 Responses to juice fast/detox

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading juice fast/detox at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

