vegan pear muffins

December 29, 2011 § 4 Comments

vegan pear muffins

So what do you do when your previously carnivorous friend decides to go vegan? Kill her. That’s right, you begrudgingly make room for her new eating habits and remember than when you, yourself, were a vegetarian she graciously accepted that as well. Except wait…that’s not even true. My best friend used to dangle pieces of meat at me during meals together and poke fun at my decision to be a vegetarian. Well the tables sure have flipped now, haven’t they? Because here I am, the one who eats almost everything, and there she is in North Carolina, eating tofu, beans, and greens.

dry ingredients
cinnamon
d'anjou pear slices

I don’t often get requests for my blog. My family is always more than happy to eat what I pull out of the oven and aside from them, I don’t think anyone else really cares what I decide to make. But about a week ago, my crazy girl Natalie requested that I make something vegan, so here you are, some vegan pear muffins. I really think these are great, and if you’re not a vegan and don’t have soy milk on hand, you can absolutely substitute regular milk in there. Otherwise, these are 100% normal muffins.

Enjoy girl. I miss your craziness when you’re down in Duke!

d'anjou pears

Vegan Pear Muffins
adapted ever so slightly from That’s So Vegan

3 cups flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 cups soy milk
1/2 cup canola oil
1 tbsp vanilla
2 pears, chopped

Preheat oven to 400° and line a muffin tin with paper cups.

Mix all the dry ingredients together, then add the wet. Stir until just combined. Fold in the chopped pear and pour batter into prepared pan. (I went for 12 muffins and a small loaf pan.) Bake for about 25 minutes, let cool and enjoy!

§ 4 Responses to vegan pear muffins

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading vegan pear muffins at bitemythumb.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

