so it begins.

February 8, 2011 § 2 Comments

asparagus
I’ve been reading food blogs for a couple of years, now, and I always find myself envious and in awe of food bloggers’ seemingly endless talents. I mean, come on! They can cook, they can take gorgeous photos, and they’re interesting as all hell!

I’ve always wanted to start a blog of my own, but every time it came down to brass tacks, I could never do it. Self-consciousness about my photos is what always got to me and even if I started a blog, I’d always delete it within a week because I was never happy with how it looked.

So maybe I should explain why I decided to finally grow a set and start this for real. As I write this I am in the second semester of my senior year in high school and my school requires that all seniors enrolled in an English course do this project lovingly called the SIPs (senior inquiry project). The awesome thing about the SIPs is that it can be anything. Literally, anything. I’ve had friends (or known friends of friends) who started online businesses, painted murals, and even made documentaries. I’m sure you know where this is going, but for my SIPs, I decided to start a food blog and, along with it, learn how to take pretty pictures, design a layout, and write interestingly. It’s practically 3 projects rolled into one, but I’m hoping that even after I turn in my inquiry project, it’ll be something I continue to do just because I love it.

I guess I’ll leave you with this: Here you’ll find the bumbling misadventures of a high school student who enjoys banging about the kitchen, grating nutmeg, and speaking in a British accent.

§ 2 Responses to so it begins.

  • Zo Zhou says:

    Well I was very excited to stumble across your blog – on Tastepostting, no less! Also you make macarons?!
    Honestly it took me a good few months to get onto Tastepostting and I was doing photography at high school. Macarons took substantially longer. So grats on the early recognition, and I look forward to following your work. Looks great already.

    • bitemythumb says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words, Zo! I’ve only had two successful attempts at macarons, so I’m still trying to nail down the consistency part of it.
      Thanks again for the comment! I look forward to perusing your lovely blog as well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading so it begins. at bitemythumb.

meta

