rainbow rice krispie treats

April 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

ready to eat!

You know what’s a weird food? Marshmallows. They’re kind of gummy, not nearly sweet enough to be eaten alone, and covered with stuff that looks and tastes tastes sort of like chalk dust. Yet at the same time, we always have a bag of the miniatures in my house because we like them on sweet potatoes and in rice krispie treats. Er…crisped rice treats? (No one likes a lawsuit.)

chillin' in the pan

Even though they’re kind of a kid food, it’s my  mom who really loves these things. You already know she has a wicked sweet tooth, but she’ll buy boxes of these treats and store them away at her work desk to snack on. Most of the time I tolerate processed foods. I’ll admit they’re kind of handy when it’s nearing one in the morning and I’m doing some cramming and am suddenly struck by hunger, but being who I am, I always like to take a stab at making things on my own and seeing how they turn out.

As it is, regular rice krispie treats are about as good as they’ll ever be, but you can guess what happened when I saw the Fruity Pebbles and marshmallows sitting together in the cupboard. Absolutely inevitable!

fruit sparkles, haha

Actually, I should give some inspiration credit to my friend, Anthony, who tossed me the idea of rainbow rice krispies in an e-mail when we were  discussing, among other things, cereal in ice cream and delicious, delicious Sauce. (Hey Anthony, if you’re reading this you found my blog!)

cloud-like marshmallows

There isn’t much elaborateness to this recipe. I simply took a standard rice krispie treat recipe, halved it, and used Fruity Pebbles instead of Rice Krispies. (Jeeze, all this brand capitalization is exhausting.) What you get as a result is a fun, colorful treat for all to enjoy. I made these on the same day I made this for the monkeys my sister and her friend and it was eaten up even faster than the bread was!

just cut up

Rainbow Rice Krispies
adapted from the back of a bag of marshmallows

2 tbsp butter
2 cups Fruity Pebbles (or store brand) cereal
2 cups mini marshmallows

Melt the butter in a saucepan. You can let it brown if you want, but don’t let it burn! Stir in the marshmallows and stir it until they’re all melted in with the butter and smooth.

Pour the cereal into the marshmallows and give it a few good turns to coat all the cereal. Then pour it into a parchment-lined 8×8 pan and press flat with another piece of parchment.

Let cool, cut into squares, and watch them get eaten up!

P.S. I’ll see you guys after the weekend, I’ll be eating deep-dish pizza and watching the Blue Man Group in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading rainbow rice krispie treats at bitemythumb.

meta

