blueberry boy bait

July 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

good slicing

I almost feel as though I shouldn’t type anything in this post and just let you make this boy bait for yourself, because it is really something else. Now that it’s summer in the northern hemisphere and all, we are really rollin’ in the berries. Strawberries, raspberries, and my favourite, blueberries. I don’t know why I like them so much, but they’re absolute darlings to me! And I will eat them any which way. In order of descending favourite-ness: just plucked from a blueberry shrub, out of a plastic box-thing, in a parfait, and now in boy bait.

softening butter, seriously
this is what happens when you really soften butter floured

Even though I’m not a boy (I know it’s sometimes hard to tell)…someone, anyone could easily lure me into the back of a nondescript van with some of this cake. It’s light, sweet, and honestly quite simple. After I let my butter soften (for the first time in ever) I started beating and whipping and adding things into the cake and I was dumbfounded, uncomfortable, and really, really confused when I realized that there was no cinnamon or vanilla in the batter. (Cinnamon and vanilla are my home girls.)

rinsed summer gems

Maybe the sprinkling of cinnamon sugar atop the batter was supposed to placate spice junkies as myself, but I was hesitant, and then distraught when my cake sort of folded in on itself and all the cinnamon sugar sank into the middle of the cake. Something, I’d soon find, was not necessarily a bad thing. So there I am, with my imploded cake just following directions like a good little girl trying to bait them boys in, so after 20 minutes of cooling, I try to remove the cake from the pan. Kaputt, the center of the cake lifts out of the pan and the edges just kind of relax and my faces melts in frustration but, worry not, because it was all so well worth it. I set those cake guts onto a cutting board and decided, what the heck, and dug right in and man, oh man, was that son of a gun delicious.

scraped out scattered topping

So forget about boys and bait as I did throwing niceties and etiquette out the window and make some of this blueberry cake and enjoy it!

poor, poor slicing

Blueberry Boy Bait
from Smitten Kitchen

2 cups plus 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon table salt
16 tablespoons unsalted butter (2 sticks), softened
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1 cup whole milk (though buttermilk, which was all I had on hand, worked just great)
1/2 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (if frozen, do not defrost first as it tends to muddle in the batter)

Topping
1/2 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (do not defrost)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

For the cake: Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 13 by 9-inch baking pan.

Whisk two cups flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl. With electric mixer, beat butter and sugars on medium-high speed until fluffy, about two minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until just incorporated and scraping down bowl. Reduce speed to medium and beat in one-third of flour mixture until incorporated; beat in half of milk. Beat in half of remaining flour mixture, then remaining milk, and finally remaining flour mixture. Toss blueberries with remaining one teaspoon flour. Using rubber spatula, gently fold in blueberries. Spread batter into prepared pan.

For the topping:
Scatter blueberries over top of batter. Stir sugar and cinnamon together in small bowl and sprinkle over batter. Bake until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 45 to 50 minutes. Cool in pan 20 minutes, then turn out and place on serving platter (topping side up). Serve warm or at room temperature. (Cake can be stored in airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.)

§ One Response to blueberry boy bait

  • molly says:

    I made this and it was SOOO good. I will make this all the time now. Seriously just tasted so buttery and amazing, and my blueberries didn’t settle to the bottom so I served it in the pan but everyone loved it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading blueberry boy bait at bitemythumb.

meta

