nostalgic plum kuchen

August 3, 2011 § 2 Comments

a slice of plum kuchen

My family has recently moved to a suburb outside of Atlanta. It’s a quaintly named Peachtree City, but so is everything else in the state of Georgia. Driving through Atlanta is a bit of a mess because you can easily turn wrongly onto Peachtree Street when you were aiming for Peachtree Parkway. Driving around at night sort of feels like you’re in a horror movie. There are no streetlights, all the roads are hedged by trees, and everything is so windy!

In case you can’t tell, I’m missing home.

gorgeous plums!
slicing up plums

I miss everything about Buffalo. I miss the comfortable summers, I miss the logical grid-like layout of streets, and most of all I miss the Vitamin D-deficiency induced lethargy of the people in ‘the drinking city with a sports problem’. (I’ve yet to get used to how nice people are in the south.) Being away from New York has really brought me to appreciate everything that it has. I miss the dairy farms of Upstate, the water of the Great Lakes (it costs buttloads here, guys), and being able to go out at midnight with friends, roam around Wegmans and share a pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream in the parking lot.

pre-bake close up

Here in Georgia, I have zero friends. No friends! Okay, well I don’t actually have friends anywhere because I’m a pretty repulsive person, but at least in Buffalo, I had people who were nice to me and didn’t mind too much if I pretended we were friends and I miss them greatly. What that equates to, for me, is that I sit in my room with the fan on high and I skulk around food blogs and watch British television. Consequently, my recipe queue is now as long as Santa’s list of children and I think hope I’ve picked up a nice, posh accent.

everthing sank

As strange as it might seem, a grocery shopping trip is what really smacked me in the face with a cast iron pan of nostalgia for home. Or actually, maybe it’s not so strange as my life, more or less, revolves around food. Browsing through the dirt-cheap stone fruits made me happy as could be, of course. But hitting the dairy & egg aisle, it struck me that there we weren’t near Upstate Farms anymore and Byrne Dairy products were no longer ubiquitous.

So the anxious countdown until I return to New York for school begins, twelve days until I’m back in Buffalo, and then four more when I move into Low Rise 7. I can’t wait!

what was left

Plum Kuchen
adapted, barely, from Epicurean Mom

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons granulated sugar, divided
1 1/2 -plus 1 teaspoons cinnamon, divided
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
2/3 cup 2% milk
3 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 medium plums, slightly firm, cut into 1/2-1/4-inch rounds

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl. Stir until well incorporated. In a separate small bowl stir eggs, milk, butter and vanilla. Slowly whisk the egg mixture with the flour until just mixed.

Grease and line a 9-inch round spring pan.  Spoon the batter into the pan (the batter will barely fill the pan.  This is ok…It’ll rise!)  Spread evenly.  Place the plum rounds in a circle on top of the batter.  Combine the 3 tablespoons sugar and 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon and generously sprinkle on top of the plums.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

§ 2 Responses to nostalgic plum kuchen

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nostalgic plum kuchen at bitemythumb.

meta

