sea salt & black pepper roasted parsnips

August 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

after draining

A long, long, long while back I found this recipe that looked to me like a healthier and delightfully cheesy version of a fry. Naturally it took me forever to get my hands on parsnips, and when I did, I realized I hadn’t planned far enough ahead and I was lacking in both rosemary and parmesan cheese. But has lacking ingredients ever stopped me before? Nay!

albino carrots
simplicity at its best
pre-roast

I charged ahead, full speed, and roasted those parsnips right up coated in nothing more than a light drizzle of olive oil, black pepper, and salt. Man…not a mistake at all! Seriously, once roasted parsnips become sort of mushy like sweet potato wedges, but have that carroty taste as well and it’s freakin’ awesome! Raw parsnips are much more carroty in flavor and I know that because I decided to pick up a raw wedge and just eat it even though it very well could’ve been poisonous until cooked. I think there are vegetables like that…right?

chop, chop, parsnip fingers
snack for later (shh)

Anyways, the first time I ever considered buying or using parsnips was in a winter root vegetable pot pie that I never made found while thumbing through a vegetarian cookbook. Sarah’s roasted parsnips, however, seemed infinitely more appealing and given that I’d lost the pot pie recipe, I added it to my queue and got to it a few months later.

sucking up those oils

So worth the wait.

roasted & golden

Sea Salt & Black Pepper Roasted Parsnips
adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

6 large parsnips
olive oil
sea salt
black pepper

Let me just preface this by saying that this recipe is extremely free. Use as many or few parsnips as you like and adjust the salt & pepper to your tastes. I won’t tell you what to like. That said, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Peel & cut your parsnips into even pieces, I did mine approximately finger-sized. Place chopped parsnips into a bowl, drizzle with olive oil, and toss until fairly evenly coated. Sprinkle with sea salt and grind pepper on top and toss again until satisfied with the level of seasoning.

Place parsnips on a lined baking sheet and pop into the oven for 20-25 minutes and golden at the edges. Leave in longer if you want a dark roast and crisper parsnips.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sea salt & black pepper roasted parsnips at bitemythumb.

meta

