home, home again.

December 18, 2011 § 3 Comments

steak

So the first semester of college has drawn to an end, and I know I’ve left you high and dry, post-wise and I am so sorry! Let me just get that apology off my chest and out there for everyone. But I’m back at one of my homes now, and it is so lovely. I’ve missed my family, I can’t even begin to describe to you how much. They’re goofy, fun, loving, and awesome. And they know me so well, because guess where my first stop after coming back to Georgia was? Yup. To the grocery store!

seasonings

So after lugging home more than I could eat’s worth of persimmons, honey crisp apples, and oyster mushrooms, I arrived home to this rad banner that my goofball sister made me and both her and my dad hanging out in their pajamas. Hugs and kisses and unpacking were partaken in, and shortly after, sleep. Waking up today, I got to eat some of my mom’s cooking that I have missed so much at college. Cornell might have some of the best college food around, but it’s no comparison for home cooked, small batch food.

The other thing I’ve missed is having a full sized kitchen. I still long for the gas stove that we left in Buffalo, but having a real kitchen to work in with actual counter space instead of mixing ingredients in my dorm room is really awesome and I couldn’t wait to get crackin’. The first thing I made? Steak.

It’s funny that I even eat steak now, because for years I was a staunch vegetarian, but a really well prepared steak at this steak and seafood place in Buffalo completely turned me around. After I’d already started eating meat, of course. They prepare their steaks simply, with a rub of rosemary, black pepper, and sea salt, and it’s something I’ve tried to emulate halfway successfully on our lame-o electric ‘grill’. Still, it’s a really nice way to prepare a steak and celebrate a homecoming, many of which I’m sure will be occurring in the next few weeks, what with the holidays and ends-of-semesters.

seasoned

Rosemary Black Pepper Steak

steaks of your choice
rosemary, enough to cover both sides of your steaks, minced finely
black pepper, preferably fresh ground
sea salt, to taste

Take your steaks out 1-2 hours before you plan to prepare them. Uncover/unwrap/unwhatever and place them on a large plate. Sprinkle the rosemary, black pepper, and sea salt onto one side of the meat and and give it a nice flavor massage. Flip the steaks and repeat on the other side and let the steaks rest and come to room temperature.

Fire up your grill, or whatever medium you’re planning on cooking your steaks with. This is a nice reference for different methods of preparing steak. Cook your steaks to preference, tent with foil and let rest for 15-20 minutes. Then serve and enjoy!

§ 3 Responses to home, home again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading home, home again. at bitemythumb.

meta

