zucchini, rosemary, tomato fusilli

May 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

ready to serve!

Remember that ugly sauce I mentioned a while ago? Well, it’s still ugly, despite all my attempts to make it look even a little bit prettier, but alas blended zucchini and tomatoes will always, always, always end up looking like…well, like puke. I’d say it’s more than lamentable how ugly sauces are compared to how they taste, which is usually gosh-darned delicious. Let’s think, bolognese; looks gross, ragu; also kinda weird, and alfred; if you think about it for too long it’s pretty odd-lookin’ too. But has that stopped people from eating it? Never!

zucchini & tomatoes
zucchini here's the flavour
fusilli from the side

If this dish has only one aesthetic redeeming point, I’d say that it’s the fusilli because it’s curly, bouncy, and lots of fun. Even L’Oreal couldn’t make this pasta prettier than it already is. I actually didn’t even know fusilli existed until I reading this recipe from Deb on smitten kitchen. Even as I read the recipe for the sauce, which I ended up making two days ago, I found myself distracted by the pretty shape of the fusilli and kept my eyes peeled as I wandered dreamily through did my grocery shopping at Wegmans.

pre-sauce
blended

I think I’ve gone into carb-overload mode. Lately I’ve been doing a lot…and I mean a lot of pasta dishes for dinner. While this means absolutely nothing good for my waistline, nor my family’s, it does mean that you guys get to look forward to several pasta-centric dishes these next few posts. (I should really reign it in, it is spring which means bathing suit season is officially near.)

fusilli

Zucchini, Rosemary, and Tomato Fusilli
serves 2-3 medium portions

1 medium zucchini
3 plum tomatoes
1 sprig of rosemary
1 large clove garlic
olive oil
salt & pepper to season
fusilli pasta (or any other kind of your preference)

Slice the zucchini and dice the tomatoes. Mince up the rosemary leaves and garlic clove and pour a swirl of olive oil into a saucepan and heat it up. Toss in the rosemary & garlic and stir it around the hot olive oil until fragrant. Then place the zucchini and rosemary into the olive and cook until the zucchini is tender and everything is bubbly.

In the meantime, boil a large pot of water and cook your pasta until al dente. (I’m not even that sure what al dente means, so cook till it’s a little harder than you like to eat it.)

Once your pre-sauce is done cooking, season it with salt & pepper and then throw it into a blender and pulse a few times until it’s a nice, not completely smooth, consistency. Drain your pasta, pour the sauce on top, and grate some parmesan or pecorino cheese atop it and serve!

§ One Response to zucchini, rosemary, tomato fusilli

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading zucchini, rosemary, tomato fusilli at bitemythumb.

meta